Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Rage3D Articles and Reviews Comments
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Rage3D Articles and Reviews Comments Your commentary and feedback on Rage3D original features and reviews.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2013, 07:57 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,527
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default MSI GX-60 Notebook Review

MSI's GX60 gaming notebook features the top Trinity mobile APU with the top mobility Radeon GPU, the HD 7970M. What do you get for $1200, apart from RAID 0 SSDs, 1080P HD screen, THX audio and a steel series keyboard?

MSI GX60 Gaming Notebook Review @ Rage3D.com
Lupine is offline  
Old Mar 11, 2013, 07:27 AM   #2
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,533
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Nice laptop for sure and review. But would it be too much to ask for the inclusion of starcraft 2/hots in your test suite?
Sound_Card is offline  
Old Mar 11, 2013, 08:28 AM   #3
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

I don't have it. If I see it on sale I'll try to pick it up. Thanks for the suggestion.
caveman-jim is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 11, 2013, 10:40 AM   #4
Dr. Zhivago
Sound: Serious Business
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Oregon
Posts: 8,256
Dr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwards


Default

Looks good. I wish they wouldn't plaster PC's of any kind with stickers...
__________________


Bedroom PC - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - AMD 1100T @3.7/4GHz - H50 - 8GB DDR3-1600 - HD 7870 OC - Samsung 840 250GB - WD 640GB Blue - Xonar DX - LG BDROM - Logitech 6110 - TT Volos - Antec 900 - CM 500W PSU - Samsung 32" HDTV - Onkyo TX-SR606 - BIC L/R & MTX Surround Speakers - Mission C70 Center - Sony 10" Sub - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit

HTPC - Gigabyte GA-890GPA~UD3H - AthlonII X4 630 - HD6450 - 8GB DDR3-1333 - WD 500GB Black - WD 640GB Green - WD 2TB Green - LG BDROM - Ceton InfiniTV 4 w/ MCE Remote - Logitech MX5000 Laser Desktop - Corsair 450W - Silverstone LC10B-E - Sharp Aquos 46" HDTV - Onkyo TX-SR606 - PE 15" Sub - Classic Mission Speakers - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit

Office PC - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H - Intel 3570K - 16GB DDR3-1866 - HD 7950 FLEX - Samsung 840 250GB - WD 500GB Blue - WD 1TB Black - Xonar DX - Corsair 600W PSU - Antec ON1E - Logitech G5 - Logitech USB Media KB - AOC 23" LCD - Creative Inspire 2.1 - Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

5x Presentation Machines - Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 - FX-8350 w/ FX WC - 8GB DDR3-1600 - 5870 or 7870 Eyefinity 6 - 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB - WD 500GB Black - DVDRW - Cooler Master Sileo 500 - 600W PSU - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit - Office 2010 Pro
Dr. Zhivago is offline  
Old Mar 11, 2013, 07:18 PM   #5
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30,851
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

ArmA 2 might be a good addition to your tests. Very CPU heavy and stresses GPUs as well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline  
Old Mar 17, 2013, 07:34 PM   #6
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

some handsome young man gifted me Arma III Alpha so I'll look at how that works and see if it is a good bench or not.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Mar 17, 2013, 09:58 PM   #7
Sazar
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States Austin, TX
Posts: 25,600
Sazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSazar is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Nice review
Sazar is offline  
Old Mar 19, 2013, 05:21 AM   #8
fighterpilot
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 100
fighterpilot is still being judged by the masses


Default

Awesome review and analysis. Tits up to you! Great assessment. Would be nice to see 720p results, although I'm not complaining, just suggesting. Intel thinks they will have a hand up on AMD's IGP with Haswell but I think it's a long shot.
__________________
(1) Sager NP9150 | i7-3610QM | GTX 680m | 32GB DDR3 1600 | 512GB Crucial M4 | 256GB GB Crucial M4 mSATA | 1080p matte | Blu-Ray | Win 7 Ultimate
(2) Sager NP6110 | i7-3610QM | GT 650m | 8GB DDR3 2133 Kingston HyperX | 256GB Samsung 830 | 768p matte | Win 7 Pro
(3) HP 6475b | A10-4600m | IGP 7660g | 8GB DDR3 1600 Samsung 1.35v | 120GB Intel X25-M G2 | 900p matte | Win 7 Pro
fighterpilot is offline  
Old Mar 27, 2013, 08:36 AM   #9
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

I'm actually considering this machine for purchase. I may have to take a 2 week trip to Singapore and I sure as **** don't want to be left with no option to game.

I only seem to be able to find the model with a single 750GB HD. Anyone know if it's at least a Hybrid drive?
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline  
Old Mar 27, 2013, 09:41 AM   #10
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ristogod View Post
I'm actually considering this machine for purchase. I may have to take a 2 week trip to Singapore and I sure as **** don't want to be left with no option to game.

I only seem to be able to find the model with a single 750GB HD. Anyone know if it's at least a Hybrid drive?
It's not a hybrid drive, I think it's a WD Scorpio Black 750GB.

AMD showed a new version at GDC last night, GX70 which features Richland APU with a new 8000-series discrete GPU as well. So the GX60's should be coming down in price, or getting harder to find, when that's ready to come in.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Mar 28, 2013, 02:57 PM   #11
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
It's not a hybrid drive, I think it's a WD Scorpio Black 750GB.

AMD showed a new version at GDC last night, GX70 which features Richland APU with a new 8000-series discrete GPU as well. So the GX60's should be coming down in price, or getting harder to find, when that's ready to come in.
I just ordered the GX60 from Newegg. I need something.

Any idea of what the GX70 would cost?
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline  
Old Mar 29, 2013, 08:20 AM   #12
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Not yet, they're being prepared for shipping to retailers in the middle of the year.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Apr 8, 2013, 10:05 PM   #13
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

So I've had this laptop now for a week or so. First week I was fine with it. My only gripe was that only version I could find of this came without any SSD or anything. So I'm stuck with the slow hard drive. And boy is it slow. At times the hard drive performance is so abysmal it makes me wish I had purchased something else. I could upgrade the disks, but I really just wanted this to be an affordable useable out-of-the-box experience. But other than the HDD, all was well.

For the last 2 days however, the experience has taken a turn for the worse. I had the router connected to my home network via a DLink DIR-825 router. This worked out just fine for the first week. Then suddenly last night when I went to use it, it said it needed to restart for windows updates. After restarting it, my Wireless adapter would no longer connect to my router. I've spent the last couple of days trying everything I can trying to get it to work to no avail. I've tried uninstalling/installing/reinstalling the drivers that came on the driver CD multiple times. I've made sure the wireless adapter was turned on and not that it was off. I've changed every setting I can find one at a time and set it back again with the network settings. I've reset my router, restarted my router, reconfigured my router, tried different wireless settings on my router, tried with and without passwords. Nothing seems to work. I've run every troubleshooter and autofix windows has to offer and still it cannot connect. It sees my network, but upon attempting to connect, it fails every time.

Meanwhile every other wireless device on my network continues to work properly without issue.

I've tried to track down what Windows update installed, but according to the dates nothing actually installed on the day it made me restart the machine.

I'm completely out of ideas. I've registered my laptop with MSI and have put in a ticket with them.

Another thing that has ticked me off about MSI also is that there site for downloading doesn't have all the drivers. The latest version of the wireless adapter driver leads you to a broken link. I spent a great deal of time trying to find an actual driver that was current to use because MSI themselves can't seem to list it correctly.

I purchased this laptop for an upcoming trip. Without working wireless, it's a $1200 worthless brick to me. I may contact Newegg to see if I can return it for a full refund. If I'm lucky enough to be able to do so, I'll be looking to other laptops other than this one from MSI. Of course I won't have enough time now to get another machine in time for my trip and therefore probably won't need a laptop anyways.

So I can't recommend this thing to anyone. I'd look to something else.
__________________
My Dealings

Last edited by Ristogod : Apr 8, 2013 at 10:08 PM.
Ristogod is offline  
Old Apr 8, 2013, 10:17 PM   #14
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Do a system restore to day before yesterday.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Apr 9, 2013, 12:25 AM   #15
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Do a system restore to day before yesterday.
Ok, I'll try that. Haven't yet. Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline  
Old Apr 9, 2013, 07:21 AM   #16
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Do a system restore to day before yesterday.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ristogod View Post
Ok, I'll try that. Haven't yet. Thanks for the suggestion.
That did not work.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline  
Old Apr 9, 2013, 09:13 PM   #17
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

MSI suggested a full factory reset. I'm in the process of doing so. It's been at 1% for about 15 minutes now. This thing is going to force me to break down and upgrade it to include an SSD.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline  
Old Apr 10, 2013, 02:00 PM   #18
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Took around 8+ to do a full factory reset. Started up the machine and started going through the setup process again. When it gets to the spot where it wants to connect to the network, it sees my network, but cannot connect to it after giving it the WPA AES password/key. When I first got the laptop it connected just fine. Every other device on my network is working correctly still without issue.

So yeah, this laptop is junk. It's too bad that reviewers don't often enough run into these issues while doing these reviews. Hopefully MSI will be able to handle this. Despite how they handle it, or whether they resolve it, the seeds of my opinion concerning MSI have been sewn and I will not be recommending the use of their products to anyone, nor purchasing any more of their products for my personal use in the future.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Review of my Hp DV5t Notebook Roxen Rage3D Member Review Zone 3 Apr 10, 2009 11:55 AM
Vizo Ninja HS notebook cooler review Hanners Front Page News 0 Sep 25, 2008 04:43 AM
Jetart CoolStand 2 NC5000 Notebook Cooler Review Hanners Front Page News 1 Jan 11, 2008 08:28 AM
Thermaltake iXoft notebook cooler review Hanners Front Page News 0 Mar 15, 2007 04:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink