Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Rage3D Articles and Reviews Comments
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Rage3D Articles and Reviews Comments Your commentary and feedback on Rage3D original features and reviews.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 20, 2014, 06:44 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies Testing Mantle and TrueAudio in Thief

Thanks to a collaboration between AMD, Square Enix, Eidos Interactive, and Eidos-Montreal, the PC version of Thief now benefits from Mantle and TrueAudio technology. We run both through some tests to see how much they bring to the table.

Testing Mantle and TrueAudio in Thief @ Rage3D.com
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley
seanR3D is offline  
Old Mar 20, 2014, 08:34 PM   #2
Hippo
Radeon HD 5850
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Southern California
Posts: 592
Hippo is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'd like to know if TrueAudio can be offloaded to like a kaveri GPU while a dedicated card does graphics.
__________________
JOIN #RAGE3D ON GAMESNET! talk, tech support, and to fill the channel!!!
Hippo is offline  
Old Mar 21, 2014, 08:48 AM   #3
acroig
Troll Mod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 53,427
acroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Solid review, Sean.
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 22, 2014, 03:36 PM   #4
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hippo View Post
I'd like to know if TrueAudio can be offloaded to like a kaveri GPU while a dedicated card does graphics.
Yes, you can process TrueAudio on A10-7700K and A10-7850K with any discrete GPU.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Mar 22, 2014, 09:19 PM   #5
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,691
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Jim, can Kavari process TrueAudio and a Nvidia card do graphics? You mentioned an AMD graphics card on your response. Would open up some options for upgrade of my CPU.
noko is offline  
Old Mar 23, 2014, 11:28 AM   #6
metroidfox
dAMD fanATical nVidiot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,784
metroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymetroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

One note Sean, try using TrueAudio with stereo headphones. Those 7.1 headphones are adding extra processing that might be screwing with the effects.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koenig39
Okeh zhentlemain, we well commonce spe-cial operashun "Surraindair" at four-dirty. We well sneek pass dair defances wid our whayt flags held hagh!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr()ZaC
Spyre, I told you before! I won't let you have mensechs with metroidfox nor give you the secret address to the admins p0rn server! :drool:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villainess
:lol: @ sig ............ now get me OUTTA THERE!! :mad:
metroidfox is offline  
Old Mar 24, 2014, 10:31 AM   #7
Ichneumon
Lord of the Flies
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Michigan
Posts: 3,735
Ichneumon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metroidfox View Post
One note Sean, try using TrueAudio with stereo headphones. Those 7.1 headphones are adding extra processing that might be screwing with the effects.
I found that to be the case with my headphones and a Soundblaster Zx. If the surround effects were enabled in the SB control panel the trueaudio effects in the demos were hard to differentiate - it was a subtle improvement. However when I disabled the ZX surround effects and just ran the headphones in unmodified stereo there was a much larger difference between normal stereo and the TrueAudio effects in the demos.
__________________
Ichneumon
http://www.rage3d.com

"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on. "
- Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)
Ichneumon is offline  
Old Mar 24, 2014, 01:22 PM   #8
Burn
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canada in my house
Posts: 878
Burn is still being judged by the masses


Default

How do you enable or disable Trueaudio ? how do i know is enabled ? i dont remember a trueaudio option ... just the Mantle setting in the video tab
__________________
-Burn
see button on the left for system specs.


There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Burn is offline  
Old Mar 24, 2014, 02:19 PM   #9
teiva
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia Townsville
Posts: 72
teiva is still being judged by the masses


Default

Mantle made quite a significant difference for me in Thief. I've noticed no stuttering whatsoever so far.

On this rig I'm running a 8350, R9-290, 16GB Ram, 256GB SSD, Win8.1 64bit, 14.3 beta drivers and 1.3 Thief patch:

DirectX Mantle
Min 31.7 55.6
Max 97.6 119.6
Avg 49.2 81.0

I noticed a fair bit of difference with true audio enabled but then again that was with just normal stereo headphones.

I'll be getting another 290 shortly and will be able to start testing in crossfire.
teiva is offline  
Old Mar 24, 2014, 05:45 PM   #10
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Good points on the surround. I'll look into this soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn View Post
How do you enable or disable Trueaudio ? how do i know is enabled ? i dont remember a trueaudio option ... just the Mantle setting in the video tab
It's in audio options.
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley
seanR3D is offline  
Old Mar 24, 2014, 07:42 PM   #11
Burn
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canada in my house
Posts: 878
Burn is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanR3D View Post
Good points on the surround. I'll look into this soon.

It's in audio options.
humm if you talk about the reverb option my choice are Off and Software.

i have my game patched , 14.3 Cats and a HD7970..

unless Software = trueaudio ?
__________________
-Burn
see button on the left for system specs.


There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Burn is offline  
Old Mar 24, 2014, 09:16 PM   #12
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

No, software is software.

TrueAudio is only supported on the 2xx series.
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley
seanR3D is offline  
Old Mar 25, 2014, 12:26 PM   #13
aalb1970
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
aalb1970 is still being judged by the masses


Default Difference between Trueaudio and Software?

Is there supposed to be a pronounced difference between TrueAudio and Software? To my ears the two settings sound exactly the same.

Are there any good places to test if it works in the beginning of game?
aalb1970 is offline  
Old Mar 25, 2014, 01:05 PM   #14
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Alleys, cathedrals, etc. Any place where sound bounces off of walls a lot.
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley
seanR3D is offline  
Old Mar 25, 2014, 02:38 PM   #15
aalb1970
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
aalb1970 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanR3D View Post
Alleys, cathedrals, etc. Any place where sound bounces off of walls a lot.
Ok, thanks.
aalb1970 is offline  
Old Mar 25, 2014, 04:12 PM   #16
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Article has been updated with new impressions, guys. A comparison video has been uploaded, too (audio recording settings: AAC 48kHz, stereo, 320 bitrate).
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley
seanR3D is offline  
Old Mar 25, 2014, 05:07 PM   #17
aalb1970
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
aalb1970 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Interesting. How did the headset drivers affect the results? On my system there's no audible difference between the "software" and the "TrueAudio" setting.
aalb1970 is offline  
Old Mar 25, 2014, 05:32 PM   #18
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

It has its own logic that I guess was interfering. Not precisely sure how.

It's not going to sound different in all scenarios. Try more.
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley
seanR3D is offline  
Old Mar 25, 2014, 06:21 PM   #19
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Yes, you can process TrueAudio on A10-7700K and A10-7850K with any discrete GPU.
Quote:
Originally Posted by noko View Post
Jim, can Kavari process TrueAudio and a Nvidia card do graphics? You mentioned an AMD graphics card on your response. Would open up some options for upgrade of my CPU.
Read above.

Then buy an AMD Radeon.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Mar 25, 2014, 06:22 PM   #20
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,999
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanR3D View Post
It has its own logic that I guess was interfering. Not precisely sure how.
Because -
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ichneumon View Post
I found that to be the case with my headphones and a Soundblaster Zx. If the surround effects were enabled in the SB control panel the trueaudio effects in the demos were hard to differentiate - it was a subtle improvement. However when I disabled the ZX surround effects and just ran the headphones in unmodified stereo there was a much larger difference between normal stereo and the TrueAudio effects in the demos.
You have two spatial audio techniques fighting each other.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old Mar 26, 2014, 11:59 AM   #21
aalb1970
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
aalb1970 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Because -


You have two spatial audio techniques fighting each other.
I can verify that this is true. You need to turn off all processing done by other sound engines such as Dolby, THX or Creative to experience TrueAudio in Thief.

I prefer to play games using headphones. Unfortunately full HRTF 3D sound in games has been absent in newer games since Windows Vista, so I sometimes set my speaker configuration to 5.1 and enable my soundcard's THX engibe to at least get 360 degrees surround sound on the horizontal axis.

Unfortunately such settings mess up the TrueAudio convolution reverb in Thief. Unless I set my speaker configuration to 2 speakers and disable all Creative processing the Software setting and the TrueAudio setting sound exactly the same.
aalb1970 is offline  
Old Mar 27, 2014, 02:31 PM   #22
Lurk
Going Nowhere Fast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Italy Torino
Posts: 4,702
Lurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyLurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyLurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

my understanding is that the convolution reverb (TrueAudio) setting in Thief can be turned off and set either to hardware (GPU) or software (CPU) depending on your videocard, which should signify that when choosing software, TrueAudio algorythms are being handled by your CPU thus making the new sound effects audible in-game nonetheless, with overhead on the processor in exchange.

EDIT: nm, saw the update to the review!
__________________
No question is dumb if you do not know the answer.
Q: How can you move on in life if all you care about is pussy and videogames?
A: You don't.
Lurk is offline  
Old Mar 27, 2014, 03:41 PM   #23
Idle Wild
Up and away!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, England, UK
Posts: 1,824
Idle Wild can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyIdle Wild can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I wouldn't call 5 - 10fps a major performance benefit. I'd call it hype.
Idle Wild is offline  
Old Mar 27, 2014, 10:01 PM   #24
Redeemed
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States Out in the sticks...
Posts: 6,892
Redeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pm


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idle Wild View Post
I wouldn't call 5 - 10fps a major performance benefit. I'd call it hype.
nVidia has PhysX, AMD has TrueAudio.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akumajo View Post
a prime time magnifying glass of clusterfark shatstorm brewery.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabbitslayer View Post
congratulations on the anniversary of your emancipation from the Great Uterine Squeeze.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swingline View Post
There are two types of people in the world: those that are humble and those that will be.
Redeemed is offline  
Old Mar 28, 2014, 04:14 PM   #25
Lurk
Going Nowhere Fast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Italy Torino
Posts: 4,702
Lurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyLurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyLurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

yeah, with Mantle not working in Crossfire 5 weeks after it was supposed to be released and TrueAudio usable on less than a handful of their latest cards, I think I can officially call shens.
How about some working drivers AMD, ffs?
__________________
No question is dumb if you do not know the answer.
Q: How can you move on in life if all you care about is pussy and videogames?
A: You don't.
Lurk is offline  
Old Mar 29, 2014, 10:23 PM   #26
gamefoo21
Rage Furry X
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada Saskatchewan
Posts: 9,484
gamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanR3D View Post
No, software is software.

TrueAudio is only supported on the 2xx series.
Correction, it's only supported by a small number of the R7/R9 series

R7-260: Yes, but it is an overclocked 7790, but drivers you know and 'hidden' hardware, it's GCN 1.1

R7-265: Nope, because it's a cut down 7800 series core. GCN 1.0

R9-270: Nope, rebranded 7800 series cores

R9-280: Nope, rebranded 7900 series cores

R9-290: Yes, here comes new silicon with GCN 1.1 and we've got TrueAudio!

2 out of 5 support TrueAudio, while they all support Mantle.
__________________
"Curiosity is the very basis of education and if you tell me that curiosity killed the cat, I say only that the cat died nobly." - Arnold Edinborough

Heatware

Last edited by gamefoo21 : Mar 29, 2014 at 10:45 PM.
gamefoo21 is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2014, 05:02 PM   #27
AluminumHaste
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Home
Posts: 8,238
AluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Just upgraded from 2 x 7950s to a 290x Windforce....Overclocked the 290x to the same as my 7950s, 1050/1300. Tested Thief 4 with crossfire, mantle, and 290x directx and mantle.

The 290x is the same speed (+/-3fps) as 1 (one) 7950 with Mantle, at the same clock speeds.
This is kind of pathetic. I was thinking that my 4Ghz i7 930 was holding my 290x back, but nope, checked Afterburner, showing pegged at 99% GPU usage.

Might just return the 290x at this point. The 7950s in crossfire had a max fps of 169 fps, while the 290x was like 71 fps.

1920x1200
4x AA
16x AF High Quality
Everything on high.

I wrote down all the fps results on a piece of paper at home, just going off the top of my head. I'll put the real ones down once I get home.

I haven't tested other games yet, aside from System Shock 2, which is capped at 250 fps, and the GPU is doing like no work.

The only benefit so far is that I don't have to deal with crossfire issues, like flickering images and z-fighting etc.

Ran Heaven benchmark and was impressed that the card never went over 75C. Good performance too.
__________________
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
AluminumHaste is offline  
Old Apr 28, 2014, 07:48 AM   #28
AluminumHaste
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Home
Posts: 8,238
AluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Here were my results:

2x 7950 OC 1050/1300

Crossfire DirectX:
Min: 41.9 fps
Max: 126.8 fps
Avg: 68.2 fps

Mantle:
Min: 40.4 fps
Max: 76.9 fps
Avg: 59.0 fps

290x OC 1050/1300

DirectX:
Min: 41.5 fps
Max: 93.1 fps
Avg: 69.6 fps

Mantle:
Min: 41.1 fps
Max: 94.5 fps
Avg: 64.0 fps
__________________
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
AluminumHaste is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EXCLUSIVE: Thief patch date confirmed, Mantle and TrueAudio incoming seanR3D Front Page News 18 Mar 18, 2014 08:05 PM
Catalyst 14.3 beta driver released, includes Mantle, TrueAudio support for Thief seanR3D Front Page News 1 Mar 18, 2014 01:03 AM
AMD releases Mantle and TrueAudio patch, 50% performance improvements in Thief Lurk PC Gaming 3 Mar 12, 2014 09:45 AM
Thief PC features include Mantle and multi-monitor support, FOV slider, lots more seanR3D Front Page News 2 Dec 12, 2013 03:49 AM
Thief Gold & Thief 2 error Mrpleeb AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 8 May 24, 2004 12:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink